The Devon Rural Housing Partnership are delighted to announce the winners of this year’s Rural Housing Awards which recognise excellence and commitment in delivering affordable housing to rural communities in Devon.

The awards were presented by Councillor Barry Parsons at our annual Rural Futures Conference, Exeter Racecourse on 25th September.

The categories this year were:-

  • Outstanding Community Contribution Best Rural Development

The award for Outstanding Community Contribution is given to a particularly committed individual or community group that have overcome many challenges to bring affordable housing to their community.

This year’s winners were Corry Valley Community Land Trust. Less than 3 years after forming, the trust has brought forward a scheme of 6 affordable homes which will shortly start on site.

There were also two runners up this year who were both highly commended by the judges.

  • Geoff Pook is the Ward Councillor for Beer and Branscombe and was nominated for his hard work and enthusiasm in bringing forward a development of 5 affordable homes which are currently on site in Beer.
  • Bradworthy Community Trust were formed in March 2012 and already have a scheme of 10 affordable homes on site.

Each of the above will be awarded a cash prize to spend on a community project of their choice.

The award for Best Rural Development is a new category this year and has been awarded for the best rural development completed in Devon in the last 12 months. This took into account the standard of design, consideration of local vernacular and engagement with the local community.

This year’s joint winners are Hastoe Group for their development at Hemyock and South Devon Rural Housing Association for their development at Thurlestone.

We would like to thank this year’s judges, Cllr Barry Parsons, Devon County Council, Matt Dodd, the SW Rural and Communities Manager for the Homes and Communities Agency and Dr Richard Yarwood, Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Plymouth who judged the Outstanding Community Contribution award and Dr Matt Lobley, Senior Research Fellow at Exeter University and Co-Director of the Centre for Rural Policy Research and Councillor Ken Browse, Chairman of Halberton Parish Council and Chairman of the National Association of Local Councils who judged the Best Rural Development award.

The standard of nominees was extremely high this year and the judges were very impressed with the quality of the finished developments and the commitment and hard work that was undertaken by all of the Community groups and nominated individuals.

To see more photos from this event please visit our Facebook photo album here