Hallmark recognises the work undertaken by volunteer management committees in achieving good practice in the operation of their building.


  • To encourage, establish and reward good practice
  • To encourage improvement in establishing policies and procedures
  • To obtain recognition from other bodies for the high standard of management achieved

How does it work?

There are 3 Hallmark Levels

  1. Charity Administration and Management
  2. Health, Safety, Security and Licensing
  3. Community and Social Awareness, Forward Planning

Hallmark operates in sequential order, so a Hallmark 1 must be achieved before a Hallmark 2, and a Hallmark 2 before a Hallmark 3. You set your own pace, as a committee you can decide how many Hallmark Awards you want to achieve and in what timeframe! You may apply to have more than one level of assessment at one time.

The Assessment process – Peer Visitors

Management committees are provided with a guide book that shows them the standards they need to achieve and how they can go about reaching the targets. We then use “peer visitors,” from other community buildings management committees, as external evaluators .They examine the evidence provided by the management committee and assess the operating practices against set criteria. The ‘peer visitors’ will often provide advice and guidance to assist applicants through the process.

Receiving an Award

The achievement of each Hallmark level is marked by the award of a certificate and this is often presented at a special event. A Hallmark award will be valid for three years from the date of the official visit. Entry can be anytime throughout the year.

How do I get involved?

To receive a free Hallmark Pack, contact:
Martin Rich
email: [email protected] or call 01392 248919 ext*141